Jimi Hendrix Last Performance ' Love and Peace Festival ' 1970 Isle of Fehmarn, Germany

The Love-and-Peace-Festival (also Festival of Love) was a music festival with about 25,000 visitors, which took place from 4 to 6 September 1970 on the Ostseeinsel Fehmarn at the lighthouse Flügge. At this chaotic event Jimi Hendrix had his last festival appearance before his last appearance 16th September 1970 at Ronnie Scott's Jazz Club in London with Eric Burdon.

At 11:00 am, Hendrix and his followers met at the festival grounds, where he retired immediately in his reserved caravan. At 12:56 clock time, Hendrix entered the stage amid the cheers of the audience and played hits such as "Hey Joe", "Purple Haze" and "Voodoo Child (Slight Return)" with his backing band (Mitch Mitchell and Billy Cox). After the performance, Hendrix immediately left the grounds for London, where he died a few days later on 18 September 1970.

"Live at the Isle of Fehmarn" is a posthumous live album by Jimi Hendrix, released on December 13, 2005 by Dagger Records. The album documents the band's performance at the Open Air Love & Peace Festival in Fehmarn, Germany on September 6, 1970, which was Jimi Hendrix's final concert performance.

Several amateur recordings were made and released as bootlegs over the years, and after a new audio recording made by the festival’s promoter surfaced, the album was mixed and produced. Indeed, unbeknownst to Hendrix, the promoters captured the group’s entire performance by feeding two overhead stage microphones into a consumer grade Revox reel-to-reel tape machine located off to the side of the stage.

Track listing

All songs were written by Jimi Hendrix, except where noted.

"Introduction" – 0:44

"Killing Floor" (Chester Arthur Burnett a.k.a. Howlin' Wolf) – 4:18

"Spanish Castle Magic" – 5:42

"All Along the Watchtower" (Bob Dylan) – 4:57

"Hey Joe" (Billy Roberts) – 4:42

"Hey Baby (New Rising Sun)" – 6:22

"Message to Love" – 5:27

"Foxy Lady" – 4:27

"Red House" – 10:49

"Ezy Ryder" – 3:51

"Freedom" – 4:51

"Room Full of Mirrors" – 3:57

"Purple Haze" – 3:16

"Voodoo Child (Slight Return)" – 7:13


Jimi Hendrix – guitar, vocals

Mitch Mitchell – drums

Billy Cox – bass guitar, backing vocals

760 views0 comments